Exercise Log 1 – Days 17-23

I have started moving a bit more, so I’m going to log exercise. This is my first week, which started out with a long walk that I was surprised I managed.

Mon: –
Tue: 6.4km slow walk with family
Wed: –
Thu: –
Fri: 2.41km slow bike ride with boys
Sat: 2.21 walk/run with C, 23:16
Sun: 2.11km run with C, 15:15

My worst foot has hurt a bit. The pain used to be a normal kind of pain, but in the last few months it has morphed into a really vicious burning sensation when I bend it too far or put my full weight on the joint. I fear for what is happening in there.

I don’t want to make it worse, but I am feeling like I need to move a bit more, so we’ll just take it easy for now and see how it goes.

The bike ride aggravated my thumb joints. The run hurt my toes when I tentatively tried a mini sprint and the long walk left me with a sore foot for around 24 hours. Osteoarthritis is so bloody debilitating. I’m going to take it slow and easy and see if I can manage regular exercise without making things worse.

The important thing is that at the beginning of this year I wouldn’t have been able to do anything I’ve just done, as I was limping even when walking. Progress is progress, no matter how small.

Leave a Reply

