Day 1


It’s kind of funny that my first post should be on April Fool’s Day, but hopefully this is no joke.

I’ve decided to get secretly fit and healthy, and to secretly blog about it. And not just a bit fit, I mean super-powered fit and healthy. Strong enough to do an endurance or obstacle event. Olympian fit.

I’m a 42 year old, arthritic, frail, aching, fever-prone, insomniac with three children aged 7, 5 and 1.

Today I stood in the queue at Sainsbury’s, waiting for the woman in front of me to pay (she was a slow mover, we were there a while), idly mulling over the headlines on the front of a magazine displayed at the end of the checkout.

“Beat Bloating”

I’d read that.

“Fight Arthritis”

Crikey, an article about my worst health problem. Magazine content is definitely getting more relevant these days.

“Cheat the Signs of Ageing”

Hmm. I might have to buy it.

“Getting Forgetful?”

Wait. What? What kind of magazine is this anyway?

I scan the top and see that it’s “Healthy Living from Women’s Weekly”. Wasn’t Women’s Weekly a publication for older ladies?

There’s a flash of colour in the top corner containing text that proclaims:

“The health magazine for 40+ women.”

OMG.

I actually thought I was looking at a copy of Cosmo, or Elle or some other fashionable magazine for young women. But how could it have been? I mean, would Cosmo EVER carry an article on arthritis?

And that’s when it hit me.

The reason that magazine looked so interesting was because I fell perfectly into the demographic. I was 40+, suffering from bloating, arthritis and wondering how I could cheat the signs of ageing.

But mental decline??

It was a shock, really, to suddenly find myself in this domain. Like I’d been moved to a new department at work without anyone telling me it had happened. A department for people who are declining. For people whose bodies are breaking down. For people who are getting ready to die.

I looked at my perky, feisty, rosy-cheeked 1 year old daughter. The checkout man probably thought I was her granny.

I grabbed a copy of the magazine and shoved it next to my shopping.

This is the beginning.

Leave a Reply

